Stephanie Bastek

Stephanie Bastek is the senior editor of the Scholar and the producer/host of the Smarty Pants podcast.

Bathing Badasses

Vicki Valosik gets submerged in the history of synchronized swimming

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday July 12, 2024

Turning the World to Powder

Jay Owens on the tiny particles that float through our lives

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 28, 2024

Femmes Fantastiques

Mickalene Thomas and the art of remixing

By Stephanie Bastek | Monday June 3, 2024

Indiana Absurd

Tiffany Tsao on translating a beguiling Indonesian short-story collection

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 17, 2024

Changing the Lens

Exploding the Canon, Episode 5 (Finale)

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 10, 2024

American Modernism’s Lost Boy-King

The late, great Paul Auster on Stephen Crane

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 3, 2024

Let Us Compare Mythologies

Exploding the Canon, Episode 4

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 26, 2024

Interlude: The Idea of “The West”

A brief look at a grand narrative

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 19, 2024

The Spirit of ’68

Exploding the Canon, Episode 3

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 12, 2024

Reedies Against Racism

Exploding the Canon, Episode 2

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 5, 2024

Ahead of the Curve?

By Stephanie Bastek | Monday June 8, 2015

Doomed to Re-Tweet It

By Stephanie Bastek | Wednesday March 4, 2015

Wat Wreck

By Stephanie Bastek | Wednesday December 10, 2014

● NEWSLETTER

Please enter a valid email address
That address is already in use
The security code entered was incorrect
Thanks for signing up