Smarty Pants

Listen to the latest episode:

Subscribe: iTunes • Feedburner Stitcher • Google Play • Acast


Tune in every week to catch interviews with the liveliest voices from literature, the arts, sciences, history, and public affairs; reports on cutting-edge works in progress; long-form narratives; and compelling excerpts from new books. Produced and hosted by Stephanie Bastek.

Have suggestions for projects you’d like us to catch up on, or writers you want to hear from? Send us a note: podcast [at] theamericanscholar.org


Episode List:

Crimes Against Sexuality

How true crime stories were used to fan the flames of homophobia—and let killers get away with murder

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 21, 2019

Stick Shifts and Safety Belts

How car culture swallowed America

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 14, 2019

The Wine-Merchant’s Son’s Tale

The first biography of Geoffrey Chaucer in a generation explores the places that inspired the English poet

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 07, 2019

Meat Made

How 19th-century beef created modern America

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 31, 2019

The Space Between Our Ears

How movement, gesture, and spatial reasoning form the foundation of thoughts

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 17, 2019

Totes Adorbs

A philosopher digs into the subversive meaning of “cuteness”

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 10, 2019

Little Boxes, Big Ideas

Looking to America’s history of experimental suburbs to solve the housing crisis

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 03, 2019

“Making Books Is a Countercultural Act”

A glimpse into the inner workings of a polyphonic publishing house

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, April 26, 2019

The Ten Commandments of Bible Translation

Robert Alter talks about capturing the art of the original Hebrew

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, April 19, 2019

Daughters of War

Writing women back into battle

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, April 12, 2019
Load more