Smarty Pants

Listen to the latest episode:

Subscribe: iTunes • Feedburner Stitcher • Google Play • Acast


Tune in every week to catch interviews with the liveliest voices from literature, the arts, sciences, history, and public affairs; reports on cutting-edge works in progress; long-form narratives; and compelling excerpts from new books. Hosted by Stephanie Bastek.

Have suggestions for projects you’d like us to catch up on, or writers you want to hear from? Send us a note: podcast [at] theamericanscholar.org


Episode List:

Call of the Wild

How a radical conservation effort has transformed a former farm

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, August 10, 2018

Making the Most of #MeToo

A second-wave feminist on 21st-century feminism

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, August 03, 2018

Wonderbrain

Inside the extraordinary minds of people who feel others’ emotions, hear hallucinations, and get lost in their own homes

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 27, 2018

No-No Novel

Resurrecting the legacy of John Okada, the first Japanese-American novelist

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 20, 2018

Wimbledon Unwound

The surprising sexual politics of tennis

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 06, 2018

A Whale of a Show

Unlocking the mysteries of the world’s largest mammals with old bones and new technology

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 29, 2018

Go Tell It on the Mountain

A tribute to our protected wilderness

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 22, 2018

Letter From Underwater

Facing rising sea levels on our own shores

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 15, 2018

Lock Her Up

The decades-long U.S. government plan to imprison “promiscuous” women

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 08, 2018

An Epirotic Odyssey

One man’s quest to uncover Europe’s oldest surviving folk music

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 01, 2018
Load more