Contact Us

The American Scholar
1606 New Hampshire Avenue NW
Washington, D.C. 20009
(202) 265-3808
(202) 265-0083 (fax)
scholar@pbk.org
Robert Wilson
Editor
rwilson@theamericanscholar.org
Sudip Bose
Managing Editor
sbose@theamericanscholar.org
Bruce Falconer
Senior Editor
bfalconer@theamericanscholar.org
Margaret Foster
Associate Editor
mfoster@theamericanscholar.org
David Herbick
Design Consultant
david@herbickdesign.com
Allen Freeman
Advisory Editor
afreeman@theamericanscholar.org
Sandra Costich
Editor at Large
scostich@pbk.org
Langdon Hammer
Poetry Editor
Ann Beattie
Fiction Editor
Raymond Sachs
Publishing Director
rsachs@theamericanscholar.org
Steven Anderson
Business Manager
sanderson@theamericanscholar.org
Subscriber Address Changes
scholar@pbk.org
John Churchill
Publisher

Subscription Information

If you have any questions regarding your subscription or about subscribing to the Scholar please call 1-800-821-4567.

For change of address, please call that same number or send an email to scholar@pbk.org with the complete information, including both the original and new addresses.

Writers Guidelines

The American Scholar is a magazine of articles and essays covering the humanities, science, and current events, plus works of fiction and poetry. Published quarterly for the general reader by the Phi Beta Kappa Society, the Scholar considers nonfiction by known and unknown writers; unsolicited fiction, poetry, and book reviews are not encouraged.

The typical Scholar article is about 4,000 words, although longer and shorter pieces are welcome. Contributors need not be scholars. We pay up to $500 for accepted pieces.

Although the Scholar accepts fewer than two percent of all unsolicited manuscripts, every issue includes unsolicited pieces, and one such article, “Genome Tome” by Priscilla Long, published in the Summer 2005 issue, won the National Magazine Award for feature writing. All submissions will be carefully reviewed, but responses may take several months.

Please note, we no longer accept paper or email submissions. If you would like us to consider your work,  CLICK HERE for our online submission system. We no longer accept fiction submissions.

Please send only one submission at a time.

Sample Issues

We suggest that you read the Scholar before submitting your work. We are unable to send sample copies of the Scholar to prospective contributors. Issues are $7.95 at newsstands and $9.00 from the Scholar office.

Advertising Information

Steven Anderson
(202) 745-3247
(202) 265-0083 (fax)
sanderson@theamericanscholar.org

Newsstand distribution through Disticor Magazine Distribution Services

For more information, please contact
Dawn Cresser
(516) 837-0832
(516) 825-8290 (fax)
dcresser@disticor.com