Web Essays

Bad Jew

Reckoning with a heritage as painfully distant as it is impossible to lose

by Laura Bernstein-Machlay | Thursday, September 22, 2022

The Changing of the Guard

This year’s US Open showed the world that tennis’s next generation is here

by Eric Wills | Thursday, September 15, 2022

The Allure of the Enigmatic

“Mod” London takes center stage in Michelangelo Antonioni’s mind-blowing Blow-Up

by David Lehman | Thursday, August 25, 2022

The Affair Rekindled

Remembering the plight of Dreyfus and the effect it had on a young Marcel Proust

by Robert Zaretsky | Thursday, August 11, 2022

The Disappearing Modernists

Where did it all go wrong for so much music of the 20th century?

by Mark N. Grant | Thursday, August 04, 2022

Famous Last Lines

How many do you know by heart?

by David Lehman | Thursday, July 21, 2022

Our Remedy

Quack Covid cures and New Age elixirs are just a 21st-century spin on 19th-century patent medicines

by Colin Dickey | Thursday, July 07, 2022

Once Upon Another Fraught Time …

The power of Yiddish children’s literature

by David Stromberg | Thursday, June 02, 2022

The Dinner Party

Certain things shouldn’t be brought up at the dinner table, but in our fraught time, that’s nearly impossible

by Laura Bernstein-Machlay | Thursday, May 26, 2022

The Last Cigarette

Cinema’s most seductive prop

by David Lehman | Saturday, May 14, 2022
Load more