Web Essays

The Sondheim Way

Ambition, freedom, and the importance of innovation

by Wendy Smith | Tuesday, November 30, 2021

Henry and Louis

An unlikely literary friendship

by Max Byrd | Thursday, November 18, 2021

Why We Need the Humanities

The word itself contains the answer

by James A. W. Heffernan | Saturday, October 30, 2021

Back to School

A return to reading as a private and a public act

by Seth Lerer | Saturday, October 23, 2021

What Squid Game Is Really About 

How decades of Korean trauma have spawned a pop culture phenomenon 

by Jean Kim | Saturday, October 16, 2021

Two Poets and a Word

The whole of creation, in just three letters

by Max Byrd | Thursday, October 14, 2021

My Guidebook to Japan

Lessons from Thoreau learned in a distant land

by Pico Iyer | Saturday, October 09, 2021

Facing Death at the Ends of the Earth

The discovery of the world’s oldest rock offers a hefty dose of perspective

by Walter Nicklin | Thursday, October 07, 2021

Still Audacious

Dante’s Divine Comedy at age 700

by Randy Boyagoda | Monday, September 27, 2021

“What’s My Name?”

Ken Burns’s new documentary examines the enduring power of Muhammad Ali

by Eric Wills | Thursday, September 23, 2021
Load more