Smarty Pants

Listen to the latest episode:

Subscribe: iTunes • Feedburner Stitcher • Google Play • Acast


Tune in every week to catch interviews with the liveliest voices from literature, the arts, sciences, history, and public affairs; reports on cutting-edge works in progress; long-form narratives; and compelling excerpts from new books. Produced and hosted by Stephanie Bastek.

Have suggestions for projects you’d like us to catch up on, or writers you want to hear from? Send us a note: podcast [at] theamericanscholar.org


Episode List:

Four-Legged Friends

How the horse has carried us through history

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, November 20, 2020

The Ghosts of Nazi Germany

We’ve all but forgotten the frenzy of witch trials and wonder doctors of the postwar period—but why?

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, November 13, 2020

Berlin Bops

How East German punks tore down the wall that divided them

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, November 06, 2020

Morbid and Misunderstood

The science and history of books bound in human skin

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 30, 2020

In Search of the Good Death

Examining our changing relationship with the afterlife

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 23, 2020

Do You Believe in Magic?

A global history of our oldest—and most maligned—practice

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 16, 2020

Quoth the Raven

There’s evermore to ravens than you think

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 09, 2020

Meet the Dean of American Cooking

How James Beard cultivated the authentic flavors of our cuisine

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 02, 2020

Who’s the Nerd Now?

How geek culture finally triumphed

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, September 25, 2020

How to Save Farming From Itself

The “quiet emergency” created by industrial agriculture

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, September 11, 2020
Load more