Smarty Pants

Listen to the latest episode:

Subscribe: iTunes • Feedburner Stitcher • Google Play • Acast


Tune in every week to catch interviews with the liveliest voices from literature, the arts, sciences, history, and public affairs; reports on cutting-edge works in progress; long-form narratives; and compelling excerpts from new books. Produced and hosted by Stephanie Bastek.

Have suggestions for projects you’d like us to catch up on, or writers you want to hear from? Send us a note: podcast [at] theamericanscholar.org


Episode List:

Mob Music

T. J. English on the surprising relationship between two grand American traditions—jazz and organized crime

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, August 05, 2022

The Original Influencer

Hilary Hallett on the enduring impact of Hollywood tastemaker Elinor Glyn

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 29, 2022

Take Two Shots and Call Me in the Morning

Camper English on when alcohol was the cure

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 22, 2022

You, Me, and the Deep Blue Sea

Matthew Green explores Britain’s ghost towns and drowned settlements

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 15, 2022

How the Black Creek Lost Their Citizenship

Caleb Gayle on a complicated tale of belonging

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 08, 2022

Free, Legal, On Demand

Tamara Dean on abortion in the 19th century

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 01, 2022

Split City, U.S.A.

April White on the hottest place to untie the knot in 1890s America

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 24, 2022

The Joyce of Cooking

Flicka Small on how food is everything in the world of Ulysses

by Stephanie Bastek | Thursday, June 16, 2022

What’s Love Got to Do With It?

Sloane Crosley on her new novel

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 10, 2022

Once Upon a Time in Manchester

Hopwood DePree on the quest to restore his ancestral English seat

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 03, 2022
Load more