Stephanie Bastek

Stephanie Bastek is the senior editor of the Scholar and the producer/host of the Smarty Pants podcast.

Femmes Fantastiques

Mickalene Thomas and the art of remixing

By Stephanie Bastek | Monday June 3, 2024

Indiana Absurd

Tiffany Tsao on translating a beguiling Indonesian short-story collection

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 17, 2024

Changing the Lens

Exploding the Canon, Episode 5 (Finale)

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 10, 2024

American Modernism’s Lost Boy-King

The late, great Paul Auster on Stephen Crane

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 3, 2024

Let Us Compare Mythologies

Exploding the Canon, Episode 4

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 26, 2024

Interlude: The Idea of “The West”

A brief look at a grand narrative

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 19, 2024

The Spirit of ’68

Exploding the Canon, Episode 3

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 12, 2024

Reedies Against Racism

Exploding the Canon, Episode 2

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 5, 2024

Sing, Muse

Exploding the Canon, Episode 1

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday March 29, 2024

Dancing the Imperial Twist

Julian Saporiti on mixing music with history as No-No Boy

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday August 4, 2023

Femmes Fantastiques

By Stephanie Bastek | Monday June 3, 2024

Indiana Absurd

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 17, 2024

Changing the Lens

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 10, 2024

Let Us Compare Mythologies

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 26, 2024

The Spirit of ’68

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 12, 2024

Reedies Against Racism

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 5, 2024

Sing, Muse

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday March 29, 2024

Dancing the Imperial Twist

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday August 4, 2023

● NEWSLETTER

Please enter a valid email address
That address is already in use
The security code entered was incorrect
Thanks for signing up