Stephanie Bastek

Stephanie Bastek is the senior editor of the Scholar and the producer/host of the Smarty Pants podcast.

No-No-Novel

Resurrecting the legacy of John Okada, the first Japanese-American novelist

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 2, 2023

Music to Have Revelations To

Small Fools on the band’s brand of “cosmic bardcore”

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 26, 2023

Lines from the Front

Carolyn Forché on a wartime anthology of Ukrainian poetry

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 19, 2023

Losing the Lot

Henry Grabar on what parking has done to us

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 12, 2023

The Pacifist and the Battlefield

Chad Williams on W. E. B Du Bois’s reckoning with World War I and Black liberation

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 5, 2023

A Home in Chinatown

Ava Chin on tracing five generations of Chinese-American history

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 28, 2023

Listening to the Dead

Alexa Hagerty on how forensic anthropology exhumes crimes against humanity

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 21, 2023

That Time of the Month

Kate Clancy takes the mystery out of menstruation

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 14, 2023

Twenty Years of War

Ghaith Abdul-Ahad on the invasion of Iraq and the turmoil that followed in his homeland

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 7, 2023

The Art of Doing Nothing Much, Together

Sheila Liming on the importance of chillaxing

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday March 31, 2023

Bathing Badasses

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday July 12, 2024

Turning the World to Powder

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 28, 2024

Femmes Fantastiques

By Stephanie Bastek | Monday June 3, 2024

Indiana Absurd

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 17, 2024

Changing the Lens

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 10, 2024

Let Us Compare Mythologies

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 26, 2024

The Spirit of ’68

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 12, 2024

Reedies Against Racism

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 5, 2024

● NEWSLETTER

Please enter a valid email address
That address is already in use
The security code entered was incorrect
Thanks for signing up