Smarty Pants

Listen to the latest episode:

Subscribe: iTunes • Feedburner Stitcher • Google Play • Acast


Tune in every week to catch interviews with the liveliest voices from literature, the arts, sciences, history, and public affairs; reports on cutting-edge works in progress; long-form narratives; and compelling excerpts from new books. Hosted by Stephanie Bastek.

Have suggestions for projects you’d like us to catch up on, or writers you want to hear from? Send us a note: podcast [at] theamericanscholar.org


Episode List:

Shifting Sands

We’re almost out of this tiny grain—and we’re only now beginning to pay attention

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, September 21, 2018

Weirdo Capital of the West

The fantastical saga of Oklahoma City

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, September 14, 2018

Smell Ya Later

How 19th-century Americans used their noses to fight for urban change

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, September 07, 2018

Long Live the Library

Our favorite public institution provides far more than books

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, August 24, 2018

Strange Fruit and Stolen Lives

The ugly story of the whitest county in America

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, August 17, 2018

Call of the Wild

How a radical conservation effort has transformed a former farm

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, August 10, 2018

Making the Most of #MeToo

A second-wave feminist on 21st-century feminism

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, August 03, 2018

Wonderbrain

Inside the extraordinary minds of people who feel others’ emotions, hear hallucinations, and get lost in their own homes

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 27, 2018

No-No Novel

Resurrecting the legacy of John Okada, the first Japanese-American novelist

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 20, 2018

Wimbledon Unwound

The surprising sexual politics of tennis

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 06, 2018
Load more