Smarty Pants

Listen to the latest episode:

Subscribe: iTunes • Feedburner Stitcher • Google Play • Acast


Tune in every week to catch interviews with the liveliest voices from literature, the arts, sciences, history, and public affairs; reports on cutting-edge works in progress; long-form narratives; and compelling excerpts from new books. Produced and hosted by Stephanie Bastek.

Have suggestions for projects you’d like us to catch up on, or writers you want to hear from? Send us a note: podcast [at] theamericanscholar.org


Episode List:

Read Me A Poem, Won’t You?

Behind the scenes of our sister podcast

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, July 03, 2020

Whale Song

Unlocking the mysteries of the world’s largest mammals with old bones and new technology

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 26, 2020

Founding Falsehoods

Reconsidering how we’ve been telling stories about American history

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 19, 2020

The Antebellum Feminine Mystique

Contrary to fables, white female slave owners in the South were just as deeply invested in the institution as their male counterparts

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 12, 2020

Still Junk Science

How scientific inquiry has been complicit in, or explicitly aligned with, racism and white supremacy

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, June 05, 2020

Reading Together, Alone

Books were social media all along

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 29, 2020

Cræft in the Time of Corona

What we make with our hands tell us a lot about ourselves, even in a pandemic

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 22, 2020

Spy Games and Secrets

Matthew Quirk opens the dossier on thriller writing

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 15, 2020

Trouble Brewing

The story of how coffee recalibrated the world

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 08, 2020

Tropical Troublemakers

A new novel explores the true life and crimes of O. Henry

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, May 01, 2020
Load more