Smarty Pants

Listen to the latest episode:

Subscribe: iTunes • Feedburner Stitcher • Google Play • Acast


Tune in every week to catch interviews with the liveliest voices from literature, the arts, sciences, history, and public affairs; reports on cutting-edge works in progress; long-form narratives; and compelling excerpts from new books. Produced and hosted by Stephanie Bastek.

Have suggestions for projects you’d like us to catch up on, or writers you want to hear from? Send us a note: podcast [at] theamericanscholar.org


Episode List:

The Microscopic House Guest

Coming to terms with the abundance of life in our homes

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, December 07, 2018

Opera 101

A crash course in how to love one of the most elusive art forms

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, November 30, 2018

Through a Lens Darkly

A photographer on how we represent conflict

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, November 16, 2018

Too Much Future

How East German punks tore down the Berlin Wall

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, November 09, 2018

Bad Blood

Why the 17th-century vampire still haunts us today

by Stephanie Bastek | Wednesday, October 31, 2018

The Future Is Feminist Book Collecting

How women are shaking up the rarefied world of antiquarian books

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 26, 2018

Black Birds of the Tower

There’s evermore to ravens than you think

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 12, 2018

Something Witchy This Way Comes

The social forces at work behind history’s favorite scapegoat

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, October 05, 2018

Threepenny Thriller

An 18th-century thief gets a 21st-century update

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, September 28, 2018

Shifting Sands

We’re almost out of this tiny grain—and we’re only now beginning to pay attention

by Stephanie Bastek | Friday, September 21, 2018
Load more