Stephanie Bastek

Stephanie Bastek is the senior editor of the Scholar and the producer/host of the Smarty Pants podcast.

Sing, Muse

Exploding the Canon, Episode 1

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday March 29, 2024

Dancing the Imperial Twist

Julian Saporiti on mixing music with history as No-No Boy

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday August 4, 2023

Dying for Fashion

Dana Thomas on how our hunger for new clothes damages the environment and exploits workers

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday July 28, 2023

On the Line

Karen Pinchin on what tuna reveal about the fate of our oceans

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday July 21, 2023

Of Panic and Paranoia

Colin Dickey on the enduring power of secret societies and conspiracy theories

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday July 14, 2023

Man vs. Mosquito

Timothy Winegard on how this irritating insect changed human history—for better and for worse

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday July 7, 2023

The Falcon’s Odd Little Cousin

Jonathan Meiburg on the smartest bird you’ve never heard of

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 30, 2023

Imagined Cuisines

Anya von Bremzen on what makes a “national dish”

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 23, 2023

What Could Be Wurst?

Jamie Loftus on the wild American world of hot dogs

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 16, 2023

Why the West Won’t Die

Naoíse Mac Sweeney on writing a different kind of “big history” book

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 9, 2023

Bathing Badasses

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday July 12, 2024

Turning the World to Powder

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday June 28, 2024

Femmes Fantastiques

By Stephanie Bastek | Monday June 3, 2024

Indiana Absurd

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 17, 2024

Changing the Lens

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday May 10, 2024

Let Us Compare Mythologies

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 26, 2024

The Spirit of ’68

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 12, 2024

Reedies Against Racism

By Stephanie Bastek | Friday April 5, 2024

● NEWSLETTER

Please enter a valid email address
That address is already in use
The security code entered was incorrect
Thanks for signing up