Tuning Up

One April Day

A death, a book, an art show, and a promise of magnolia blossoms

by Rachel Hadas | Monday, June 04, 2018

Haste Makes Waste

Which figures of speech will survive, and which will vanish?

by Edward Hoagland | Monday, March 05, 2018

Against Wind and Tide

On the Asturian coast of Spain, cold days and a warm greeting

by Clellan Coe | Monday, December 04, 2017

“How Bad Is Your Pain?”

Notes on the nature of suffering

by Raj Telhan | Tuesday, September 05, 2017

My Mentor

In remembrance of Ben Sonnenberg

by Susan Minot | Monday, June 05, 2017

(Full Disclosure)

Conflicts, more or less of interest

by Ann Beattie | Monday, March 06, 2017

Waiting With Kipling

Kim, the Stoics, and the voices from my past

by Rachel Hadas | Monday, December 05, 2016

The Thing About Books

Why downsizing to a mere 650 boxes of them makes good sense

by Jethro K. Lieberman | Tuesday, September 06, 2016

On Prayer

I’ve never tried it, but I suspect the world could use a lot more of it

by Edward Hoagland | Monday, June 06, 2016

Off to See the Wizard

Finding the virtues of Homer, Plato, and Jesus in Technicolor Oz

by Mark Edmundson | Monday, February 29, 2016
Load more