Editors’ Picks

Professor Raskolnikov at the Lectern

14 fictional characters who wouldn’t do anything by the book

by Our Editors | Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Dog Days and Dog-Eared Pages

A summer reading list, Scholar-style

by Our Editors | Tuesday, August 14, 2018

The Ones That Got Away

21 authors who’ve settled down in the sunny Mediterranean—and you can too!

by Our Editors | Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Many Monsters or Monstrous Men—A Listicle Duel About Literary Villains

Two SCHOLAR editors clash over what books to read this Halloween season

by Our Editors | Thursday, October 26, 2017

Five Books Banned for Dubious Reasons—So You Should Definitely Read Them

Banned Books Week drew attention to free speech, intellectual freedom, and the right to quietly read a good novel

by Our Editors | Monday, October 02, 2017

Five Pulp Favorites—And Five Literary Greats for Ballast

There’s some commercial fiction you shouldn’t feel ashamed to read on the subway … but just in case, we’ve included a few highbrow favorites to cover your tracks

by Our Editors | Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Back to School Required Reading

12 Literary Campuses Worth Revisiting

by Our Editors | Friday, September 08, 2017

14 Books to Read, Come Hell or High Water

Part two of our H₂0 series—opening the literary floodgates

by Our Editors | Thursday, August 24, 2017

10 Books to Read—And Not a Drop to Drink

Dry salvages that will make you thirsty—part one of our H₂0 reading series

by Our Editors | Tuesday, August 01, 2017

The 11 Best Literary Feasts

Our favorite fictional culinary scenes

by Our Editors | Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Load more