Book Essay

Norman Maclean and Me

Advice for living and drinking from the author of A River Runs Through It

by Rebecca McCarthy | Monday, December 02, 2019

Finding Your Voice

How one writer discovered his when he stopped looking for it and learned instead to listen

by Larry Woiwode | Monday, June 03, 2019

Southern Cassandra

Lillian Smith was a writer and a radical who called out her region’s lies about sex and race

by Tracy Thompson | Monday, March 04, 2019

A Pleasure to Read You

Shouldn’t literature enchant, surprise, and teach us? And to make this happen, shouldn’t we be the most expert readers we can be?

by Arthur Krystal | Monday, December 03, 2018

March Madness

Why I Can’t Stand Little Women’s Jo March

by Katie Daniels | Thursday, October 11, 2018

Bringing In the Horse 

Virgil’s account of the sacking of Troy has similarities to the political situation of our day

by Mary Lefkowitz | Tuesday, September 04, 2018

Force of Nature

The racing tides beneath Peter Matthiessen’s literary achievement

by Jeff Wheelwright | Monday, June 04, 2018

A Dream of a Writer

Peter Taylor’s stories reveal an artist immersed in the quotidian who rose to the complexities of the heart and psyche

by Ann Beattie | Tuesday, September 05, 2017

Remembering Bob Silvers

The legendary New York Review of Books editor knew everybody, had read everything, and oversaw every stage of what he published

by Garry Wills | Monday, June 05, 2017

Found in Translation

A poet learns how to feel and see and think and sound in the language of his adopted home

by Piotr Florczyk | Monday, March 06, 2017
Load more